Jay R. Gould Award

The Jay R. Gould Award for excellence in teaching technical communication honors the distinguished teaching career of Professor Gould.

Professor Gould's academic mentorship of technical communication students guided many men and women into the profession. The Jay R. Gould Award for excellence in teaching technical communication honors his distinguished teaching career, which is an outstanding example of the long-term commitment, innovation, and excellence in teaching.

This award honors true academic mentorship; a record of successful students, defined as those who are involved in STC, and actively working in the profession; involvement in student activities outside of the classroom; innovation and creativity in teaching, and involvement in research that leads to changes in the way technical communication is taught.

2015 Honorees


Henschel_SSally Henschel, Midwestern State University  
Citation: For her innovations in teaching and her active and personal mentoring of graduate and undergraduate students in technical communication. She models what we want our students to aim to become.



russ hirst

Russel Hirst, University of Tennessee  

Citation: For his dedication to student success through innovative teaching, a collaborative approach to learning, inspiring mentoring, and commitment to excellence in all aspects of technical communication education.



Nomination process

Please consult the guidelines for the complete nomination process.

Who is eligible: STC Members who have belonged to the Society for ten years or more, involved in post-secondary education for at least fifteen years, and whose primary career is teaching the philosophy and theory of technical communication as a distinct discipline.

Who may recommend: Department chairs, Deans, Colleagues, and Students

Due date for recommendations: 1 November 2015

Due date for applications by recommended candidates: 12 November 2015

Honorees notified: After vote by STC Board of Directors, usually January

Award Presented: At the Honors Reception at the STC Technical Communication Summit 

The Jay R. Gould Guidelines

The previous Jay R. Gould Winners

Recommendations should be sent via email to both

Kirk St. Amant

Elaine Gilliam